Just Because You Can, Doesn’t Mean You Should

Just Because You Can, Doesn’t Mean You Should


I can’t tell you how many times over the years I’ve thought of this while watching people with horses. I think I’ve seen it all by now. I saw a post on Facebook recently that said common sense isn’t a flower that grows in everyone’s garden. It seems to be especially true with horse people.

  • Towing a full sized steel 2 horse trailer with a little 4 cylinder Jeep Liberty or similar small SUV. The SUV could fit in the trailer. If the horses move around you could have the tail wagging the dog. Not to mention there’s not enough power to pull out of a situation if needed. I guess this person didn’t realize they were putting their lives, as well as their horse’s life in jeopardy.
  • Standing on a flighty horse on the seat of a western saddle wearing cowboy boots. This one didn’t end well. Someone came around a building, spooked the horse and this person landed on their rear on the hard ground.
  • Cantering around the ring with nothing on the horse but a neck rope when there’s horses in pastures on either side of you and people riding in the ring.
  • Jumping a fence with a spread when your horse never saw that type of jump and not showing it to them first. That was me when I was 14. I had barrels on end with a rail across them and spackle buckets on end with a rail. The spread was about 2′. Since my (14.1h) pony jumped anything I pointed her at I never thought this would be a problem. It wasn’t for her, it was for me. It didn’t end well either. I cantered towards the jump (bareback no less) she came to a screeching halt, looked at the jump and while I was about to turn away & try again, she jumped it from a standstill. I jumped it without her and landed face down in the dirt.
  • Sitting on your horse while it’s loose in the pasture with other horses and no leadline. Yes, I’m referring to the picture and that’s me. It probably wasn’t a good idea, but I raised him from a long yearling and knew it was just too much effort for him to do anything except eat. The only other horse in the pasture was my husband’s older mare.

My point to all of this is safety first. It may sound like fun, but what could happen? Is it safe for you and your horse?  Think of the outcome before you do it!

One thought on “Just Because You Can, Doesn’t Mean You Should

Leave a Reply

